Real Life Somerville Police Stories:Roberto ENNIS (Unlicensed Operation of MV)

On Tuesday, 02/21/2017, I, Officer DiFava, was on duty for the Somerville Police operating marked cruiser 871. At approximately 0953 hrs, I was stopped in traffic for the red light at the intersection of Cedar Street and Highland Avenue. I randomly queried the license plate of the motor vehicle directly in front of me using my cruiser’s CJIS. As a result, the owner of the vehicle was showing a suspended license. I activated my emergency blue lights and conducted a motor vehicle stop in front of 290 Highland Avenue. It should be noted that both Cedar Street and Highland Avenue are public ways within the city of Somerville. Officer Desrouchers who was on a nearby detail provided back up as well as Officer Gee in W5. I approached the vehicle and asked the operator for his license. The operator, Roberto Ennis stated that it was not his car that he was driving. I asked him who’s car it was and he said that it was his brother, XXXXX’s car. I advised Roberto that I conducted the stop as a result of XXXXX’s suspended license. I asked Roberto for his license to verify who he was. Roberto did not answer right away and started to look around the vehicle as if he was looking for an ID. I stated to Roberto that if he does not have his license then I would need his information to verify that he does indeed have one. Roberto told me that he does not have a license and that he has never been issued one. Roberto stated that he knew that he should not have been driving. I went back to my cruiser to run Roberto’s name and DOB to confirm that he was never issued a Massachusetts Driver’s license. Roberto has a Mass ID that is currently suspended. I approached the vehicle and asked Roberto to step out and placed him under arrest for Unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle. A friend was called to take possession of the motor vehicle.

        The prisoner transport wagon was requested and transported Roberto to the Somerville Police station where he was booked in the usual manner by Lt. DeOliveira.

 

 

 

 

Respectfully submitted,

 

Officer Marc DiFava #289

 

Leave a Reply

